2024 Guild Pharmacy of the Year Winner announced

The Pharmacy Guild of Australia has awarded Capital Chemist Southlands in the ACT as the overall winner of the 2024 Guild Pharmacy of the Year.

The award was announced at the Plenary Session of the 2024 APP Conference which is underway on the Gold Coast.

Louise Mclean Pharmacist and co-owner of Capital Southlands said she was overwhelmed at her pharmacy being named the winner.

“This is an incredible achievement for our team and it’s confirmation our team is as awesome as we know they are,” Louise said.

“We have an incredible team that embraces the rich diversity in our community, and we have a lot of staff who ensure there are rainbows around the pharmacy at all times.

“Being nominated for Guild Pharmacy of the Year by one of our customers was probably the best piece of feedback we have ever received.

“I just really wish I knew who that person was just to say, ‘thank you.’”

As well as being named the overall winner, Capital Chemist Southlands also took out the Business Management category.

Fellow Pharmacist and co-owner of Southlands Stacey Fuller said she accepted the award on behalf of the staff at the pharmacy.

“You bring compassion and kindness to the workplace,” Stacey said.

There were three other category winners.

Amcal Pharmacy Emerton in New South Wales was named the winner of the Community Engagement category.

It also was named the inaugural winner of the Harm Minimisation category.

And Narrabri Pharmacy also in New South Wales took out the Professional Innovation award.

Pharmacy Guild of Australia National President Professor Trent Twomey congratulated the winners as well as all the finalists and all those nominated for the 2024 Guild Pharmacy of the Year Award.

“It goes without saying that pharmacists are here for our patients, but it says something about our finalists and winners to be acknowledged for going the extra mile by being nominated and judged for being among the finest in our profession,” Professor Twomey said.

The 2024 Guild Pharmacy of the Year Award is sponsored by Care Pharmaceuticals.

Jonathan Biddle, General Manager of the principal sponsors of the award, Care Pharmaceuticals, said the award acknowledged those pharmacy businesses who were at the forefront of innovation in the country.

“Community pharmacy continues to deliver in in all situations, to ensure that they meet the needs of their patients and their community by providing comprehensive, holistic health services, medication safety and advice, through well-managed pharmacies,” Mr Biddle said.

“We are proud at Care Pharmaceuticals to sponsor this important recognition of outstanding pharmacies, and our sponsorship reflects our ongoing commitment to patients and pharmacies in the sector.”


Must Read

Empowering the pharmacy of the future with a new web-based platform

Empowering the pharmacy of the future with a new web-based platform MedAdvisor Solutions has announced the launch of its new "MedAdvisor for Pharmacy" platform, a...