Aussie Day honours for pharmacists

Pharmacists Terry Irvine, Julie Griffin MPS and Gerry McInerney FPS were congratulated by the PSA for receiving the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

The three NSW-based pharmacists were presented with medals during the Australia Day celebrations over the weekend for their services to pharmacy and the community.

“I sincerely congratulate Ms Griffin, Mr Irvine and Mr McInerney for their lifelong dedication to pharmacy and their support of the PSA,” PSA National President Dr Shane Jackson said. “Their diligence and compassion set a wonderful example for other members of our profession and point to a bright future for pharmacy in Australia.”

Mr Irvine, from Bermagui, NSW, was a foundation councillor of the PSA from 1977 to 1983. He has been a pharmacist since the 1950s, owning pharmacies in Darwin and Cobargo, NSW, as well as serving on the Pharmacy Board of the Northern Territory, several Rotary clubs, and as a member of the Darwin City Council Planning Committee.

Ms Griffin, from Westleigh, NSW, who worked as a pharmacist at Thornleigh Chemmart Pharmacy (NSW) from 1983 to 2010, was honoured for her service to women and the community. In addition to her pharmacy career, she has made significant contributions to the Hornsby (Sydney) Ku-ring-gai Women’s Shelter, the Hornsby Ku-ring-gai Domestic Violence Network, and Soroptimist International.

Mr McInerney, from Kiama, NSW, received the OAM in recognition of his community-service work, as well as his dedication to pharmacy. A pharmacist since 1962, he was proprietor of McInerney’s Pharmacy Kiama from 1970 to 2007 and coproprietor of Priceline Pharmacy Kiama from 2007 until his retirement in 2013.

He became a Fellow of PSA in 2011 and received the PSA NSW Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016. He has also held a range of positions on the Pharmacy Board of NSW, the Pharmacy Board of Australia and the Illawarra Pharmacists’ Association.

Must Read

PDL’s grant recipients announced

Pharmacy Defence Limited (PDL) has announced the winners of the 2024 PDL Student Grants. The Winners were Yannee Liu (Vic), Aaron Stockwell (WA) and...