Health entrepreneurs wanted

Australia’s brightest entrepreneurs are being offered support to solve some of the most common health problems.

Health fund HCF and its accelerator program Catalyst, now in its fourth year in partnership with Slingshot, is offering successful applicants access to HCF mentors and hands-on resources such as funding, industry relationship-building, and strategic guidance to turn their ideas into investment-ready businesses.

In its first three years, HCF Catalyst has fostered the success of health technology businesses, with 18 start-up graduates from the program securing $9.5 million in funding from HCF and other investors. The program has also supported 11 scale-ups on the journey to becoming sustainable businesses.

Since sponsoring HCF Catalyst four years ago, HCF CEO Sheena Jack said: “Our vision for the Catalyst program has always been to support innovation in healthcare so we can drive better health outcomes for Australians. By continuing to support the latest technologies and innovative business models, we can generate real-life solutions for health issues that affect the wellbeing of our members”.

As part of HCF’s long-term goals, the aim of the HCF Catalyst program is to harness new technology and business models that improve the health outcomes of all Australians. The aim is to attract applications that relate to the latest health tech trends and address specific areas that will make healthcare understandable, affordable, high quality and member centric.

Health-tech entrepreneurs, experts and other specialists interested in building a health technology business can apply to HCF catalyst from October 23 to November 23.  Finalists will pitch their ideas to a leading panel of judges during the HCF Catalyst pitch days on December 10-11 in Sydney.

Entry Details: Startups, scaleups and entrepreneurs can apply for HCF Catalyst via the website:


Must Read

PDL’s grant recipients announced

Pharmacy Defence Limited (PDL) has announced the winners of the 2024 PDL Student Grants. The Winners were Yannee Liu (Vic), Aaron Stockwell (WA) and...