NAPSA elects new Executive for 2021-22 term

The National Australian Pharmacy Students’ Association (NAPSA) has elected a new President and Board for the 2021-22 term.

The new Board comprises Verity Boustead from Monash University as President and seven Executive Directors:

  • Georgia Bridges (RMIT University, Melbourne)
  • Ellie Hawkins (Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane)
  • Samantha King (University of Queensland, Brisbane)
  • Jack Papworth (University of Newcastle, Newcastle)
  • Flynn Swift (Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane)
  • Forrest Tang (University of Newcastle, Newcastle)
  • Alexandra Ward (University of South Australia, Adelaide).

Congratulating the new President and Board, National President of The Pharmacy Guild, Trent Twomey says they face an extremely difficult and challenging period with the Covid-19 pandemic continuing to dominate health issues across the country.

However, as a former President of NAPSA, Mr Twomey adds that while there are challenges ahead, the work of the Board and the organisation is “intensely rewarding”

“Covid-19 has seen a renewed emphasis on the role of community pharmacists and how they can contribute so much more to the health and wellbeing of communities when they are allowed to operate to their full scope of practice,” says Mr Twomey.

“NAPSA has a very significant role to play in laying the groundwork for students and their careers in community pharmacy and preparing them for the changing environment in which they will work.

“The profession’s strong and committed representation at the student level is a critical and pivotal aspect of our ongoing growth and success.”

Mr Twomey also hanks and congratulates the outgoing executive “for the great work they did during the year … during the height of the pandemic”.

“The Guild is a principal sponsor of NAPSA – and this relationship is based on the Guild’s recognition of the important role NAPSA plays in the profession,” he says.

Must Read

SHPA and PSS sign new Memorandum of Understanding

The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) and the Pharmacists’ Support Service (PSS) have signed a new Memorandum of Understanding. The signing of...