PDL Announce student grant recipients

Pharmaceutical Defence Limited (PDL) has announced its student grant winners. The PDL Student Grant was established to help Australian Pharmacy students attend a conference or event of their choosing, to further their interest in the wider profession.

The funds contribute to event registration, travel, and accommodation expenses up to $5,000 each, as well as mentoring opportunities within each state.

To apply for a grant, students submit responses to key questions, prepare an estimated budget and provide a recommendation from a faculty member.

PDL CEO, David Brown, was pleased to announce this year’s winners from very high-quality applications for both domestic and international events.

“Congratulations to Alexander Siu (NSW), Brielle Geard (Tas) and Jo Cavanagh (WA) who stood out to the selection committee with their passion for the profession and considered applications,” Mr Brown said.

PDL is thrilled to be supporting the next generation of Australian pharmacists to learn about all areas of the profession.

“This year provided a fantastic opportunity for international exposure right here in Australia, with the FIP World Congress being held in Brisbane in late September, which both Alexander and Jo will be attending. We look forward to seeing Brielle at APP24 on the Gold Coast in March for the next instalment of what is always a key event on the pharmacy calendar,” Mr Brown added.

The 2023 PDL Student Grant Recipients:

  • Alexander Siu, University of Technology Sydney, first year MPharm. Attending 81st FIP World Congress.
    Brielle Geard, University of Tasmania, second year BPharm Honours. Attending Australian Pharmacy Professional Conference and Trade Exhibition (APP)24.
    Jo Cavanagh, The University of Western Australia, second year MPharm. Attending 81st FIP World Congress.

Must Read

Professor Kevin Batty elected as President of the Council of Pharmacy...

The Australia Pharmacy Council (APC) welcomes the election of Professor Kevin Batty as President of the Council of Pharmacy Schools: Australia and New Zealand...