Pharmacy of the year finalists announced

The Pharmacy Guild of Australia has announced the six finalists of the 2024 Guild Pharmacy of the Year Awards.

The finalists are:

  • Chemist Discount Centre Gosnells, WA
  • Emerton Amcal Pharmacy, NSW
  • Priceline Pharmacy Kincumber, NSW
  • Colonnades Terry White Chemmart, SA
  • Capital Chemist Southlands, ACT
  • Narrabri Pharmacy, NSW

In addition to the Pharmacy of the Year Award, the four other Award categories are:

  • Excellence in Business Management
  • Excellence in Community Engagement
  • Excellence in Professional Innovation
  • Excellence in Harm Minimisation

The winners of these categories and 2024 Pharmacy of the Year will be announced at the 2024 APP conference on the Gold Coast from March 14 to 17.

Senior National Vice-President of the Guild, Nick Panayiaris said he is impressed at the standard of candidates this year.

“This year’s finalists have truly demonstrated the value of community pharmacies in supporting their local communities,” Mr Panayiaris said.

“They have shown dedication to patient care even with the uncertainty they are facing following recent policy decisions.”

“It’s a real commitment to putting patients first, whether that be through technology and innovation, or good old-fashioned face to face consultations.”

The principal sponsor of the Awards is Care Pharmaceuticals. Care’s General manager Jonathan Biddle says the Awards acknowledge those pharmacies which were at the forefront of innovation in the country.

“Community pharmacy continues to deliver in all situations to ensure that they meet the needs of their patients and their community by providing comprehensive, holistic health services, medication safety and advice, through well-managed pharmacies,” Mr Biddle said.

“At Care Pharmaceuticals, we are proud to sponsor this important recognition of outstanding community pharmacies, and our sponsorship reflects our ongoing commitment to patients and pharmacies in the sector.”

The Guild Pharmacy of the Year category sponsor of the Excellence in Business Management Award is Australian Pharmaceutical Industries (API).

The Harm Minimisation category is a new initiative in the Guild’s Pharmacy of the Year Awards program, and is sponsored by Camurus, Indivior, and StrongRoom AI.

The Pharmacy Guild says it is committed to supporting harm reduction associated with drug or alcohol misuse through the provision and use of services from community pharmacies.



Must Read

Empowering the pharmacy of the future with a new web-based platform

Empowering the pharmacy of the future with a new web-based platform MedAdvisor Solutions has announced the launch of its new "MedAdvisor for Pharmacy" platform, a...