TWC’s 2020 HEART Award winners announced

The national winners of the TerryWhite Chemmart (TWC) 2020 HEART Awards were announced on 17 May 2021 at the final gala event of the state-based ‘Lead Beyond’ conference events held at The Crown in Perth.

The TWC HEART Awards cover recognition across health, customer engagement, service and leadership.

More than 1000 delegates attended this year’s TWC ‘Lead Beyond’ Network Partner Conference held over two days starting in Tasmania on Tuesday 27 April followed by South Australia, Victoria, Queensland, New South Wales and concluding in Western Australia.

TWC Rhonda White Leadership Award

Seen as the most prestigious award of the year, the TWC Rhona While Leadership Award, was won by West Australian Brad Smithson who has been an owner pharmacist of the highly successful TWC Chester Pass in Albany for 16 years.

“I am truly humbled to be acknowledged with this award to which I owe to my incredible Chester Pass team,” said Mr Smithson.

“The TWC network is made up of so many inspiring leaders such as my fellow nominees Karen Brown, Jeff Nelson and Irfan Hashmi and to be put in this league is itself humbling.

“Thank you to Duncan [Philips, TWC CEO] and the whole TWC network for this acknowledgement.”

Mr Philips describes Mr Smithson as a “man of action who is relentless in his pursuit of excellence while always maintaining a positive workplace culture”.

“His focus on improving collaboration with other health professionals and mentorship to his fellow pharmacists, as well as his genuine passion for broadening access to health services for his patients puts him at the forefront of his profession.

“We couldn’t be more proud to see Brad acknowledged with this award,” said Mr Philips.

TWC Retail Leadership Award

The TWC Retail Leadership Award, which recognises the pharmacy team leader who consistently leads their team by example, was won be West Australian Chantelle Skinner from TWC Eaton.

National Pharmacy of the Year Award

TWC Chemmart Plumpton in NSW won the National Pharmacy of the Year Award for customer service excellence.

Pharmacy Improvement Award

The team from TWC Bairnsdale in Victoria won the Pharmacy Improvement Award.

State Pharmacy of the Year winners

The State Pharmacy of the Year winners included:

  • Queensland – TWC Keperra
  • New South Wales – TWC Plumpton
  • Victoria – TWC Wodonga
  • Tasmania – TWC Prospect Vale
  • South Australia – TWC Christies Guild
  • Western Australia – TWC Eaton.

Nominees for the 2021 TWC Pharmacist of the Year announced

Also announced at the final gala event were the nominees for the 2021 TWC Pharmacist of the Year, including Morag Horton, SA; Kristina Fox, TAS; Irfan Hashmi, SA; Emma Conway, QLD; Blaine Woods, QLD and Deepinder Rosha, WA.

The winner of this award will reportedly be announced at TWC’s Masterclass event set to take place in next month.


Must Read

Pharmacy group extends to Baldivis community

Blooms The Chemist welcomes the newly opened Baldivis and Baldivis Stockland stores into its growing pharmacy network. Located in Perth’s South, both stores form part...