UTS Sydney team wins the National Student Business Plan Competition

The National Student Business Plan Competition winning team is from UTS Sydney.

A team from the University of Technology Sydney has taken out this year’s Pharmacy Guild National Student Business Plan Competition, announced at the Pharmacy Connect conference’s gala dinner.

The winning team of Ellen South, Jeannette Le, German Sanchez Henares, Hansanadee Nayana Ananda and Lara Martin won with their fictitious “Tasassist Pharmacy”, which aimed to screen for allergies using a new-to-market device and deliver allergy services.

The two runners-up were:

  • “Cloud Nine Pharmacy”, University of Sydney (Samantha Lee, Emily Ge, Sharon Shi and Cindy Wang).
  • “Endo Program Pharmacy”, University of Otago (Jacky Tsao, Josephine Sitole, Yasaman Mohammadi and Phuong Le).

These three teams successfully progressed from stage one of the competition, which began in May and involved 16 teams, through the quarter-final and semi-final rounds.

The National Student Business Plan Competition is designed to promote creative entrepreneurship among pharmacy students and encourage the development of viable, innovative, pharmacist-owned community pharmacies.

The competition is sponsored by Sanofi Consumer Healthcare (principal sponsor), Ebos (major sponsor), Gold Cross Products and Services and Pharmaceutical Defence Ltd.

The sponsorship provides $15,000 in cash prizes to the finalists in the competition, as well as the opportunity for the students to attend Pharmacy Connect 2019.

Must Read

PDL’s grant recipients announced

Pharmacy Defence Limited (PDL) has announced the winners of the 2024 PDL Student Grants. The Winners were Yannee Liu (Vic), Aaron Stockwell (WA) and...