Minister Hunt welcomed back

Minister for Health Greg Hunt, who resigned last week amid the Liberal leadership challenge, has resumed the same portfolio under new Prime Minister Scott Morrison.

Mr Morrison says his new cabinet will “restore stability to the government” after the turmoil of the past week.

The AMA says it welcomes the reappointment of Mr Hunt, adding that there are too many major reviews, reforms and submissions in train to risk disruption in the portfolio and affect much-needed continuity of care.

Medicines Australia also says it welcomes the return of Mr Hunt.

“He has been a strong and effective advocate for our industry, and we’re pleased that we’ll continue to work with the minister, whose priority is listing life-changing medicines for all Australians,” CEO Liz de Somer said.

“Minister Hunt’s commitment to continuing to lead the portfolio of health provides the sector with welcome stability for the remainder of the government’s term as we seek to ensure the same for the policy environment.”

Minister for Aged Care and for Indigenous Health Ken Wyatt has also been reappointed.

Peter Dutton, the first challenger last week for the Liberal leadership, will return to Home Affairs, but his former super-portfolio will be split, with Mr Dutton focusing on cyber-security, law enforcement, border protection and security agencies.

David Coleman, a supporter of former prime minister Malcolm Turnbull, will take on Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs in a clear signal from Mr Morrison to separate the economic role of immigration from national security following policy disagreements with Mr Dutton over the past year.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison’s first ministry:

  • Michael McCormack, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Infrastructure and Transport.
  • Marise Payne, Minister for Foreign Affairs.
  • Simon Birmingham, Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment.
  • Mathias Cormann, Minister for Finance, Special Minister of State, Leader of the Government in the Senate.
  • Josh Frydenberg,
  • Kelly O’Dwyer, Minister for Women, Minister for Jobs and Industrial Relations
  • Christopher Pyne, Minister for Defence.
  • Steve Ciobo, Minister for Defence Industry.
  • Darren Chester, Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Minister for Defence. Personnel, Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC.
  • Christian Porter, Attorney-General.
  • Peter Dutton, Minister for Home Affairs.
  • David Coleman, Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs.
  • Michaelia Cash, Minister for Small Business, Skills and Vocational Education.
  • Matthew Canavan, Minister for Resources and Northern Australia.
  • Mitch Fifield, Minister for Communications, Minister for the Arts.
  • Greg Hunt, Minister for Health.
  • Bridget McKenzie, Minister for Rural Health, Minister for Sport, Minister for Regional Communications
  • Dan Tehan, Minister for Education and Training.
  • Michael Keenan, Minister for Human Services, Minister for Digital Transformation.
  • Paul Fletcher, Minister for Families and Social Services.
  • Melissa Price, Minister for the Environment.
  • Angus Taylor, Minister for Energy.
  • David Littleproud, Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources.
  • Nigel Scullion, Minister for Indigenous Affairs
  • David Coleman, Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs.
  • Alan Tudge, Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population.


Outer ministry

  • Anne Ruston, Assistant Minister for International Development.
  • Linda Reynolds, Assistant Minister for Home Affairs.
  • Ken Wyatt, Minister for Aged Care, Minister for Indigenous Health.
  • Sarah Henderson, Assistant Minister for Social Services, Housing and Disability Services.
  • Michelle Landry, Assistant Minister for Children and Families.
  • Mark Coulton, Assistant Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment.
  • David Fawcett, Assistant Minister for Defence.
  • Stuart Robert, Assistant Treasurer.
  • Zed Seselja, Assistant Minister for Treasury and Finance.
  • Sussan Ley, Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories.
  • Andrew Broad, Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister.
  • Scott Buchholz, Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport.
  • Steve Irons, Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister.

Must Read

Australia’s Premier Virtual Pharmacy Careers Event Returns

The Pharmacy Careers Summit (PCS) is thrilled to announce the return of its highly-anticipated virtual event – the Pharmacy Careers Summit 2024. Following the...