Wildcard winner named

Alyssa Murray from Queensland has won the NAPSA Wildcard for entry to the 2019 PSA Pharmacy Student of the Year (PSOTY) Award.

PSA National President Dr Chris Freeman announced the award at the National Australian Pharmacy Students’ Association Congress Gala Ball in Adelaide and congratulated Ms Murray on her exceptional achievement.

“Ms Murray and all of the [Wildcard] finalists demonstrated exceptional counselling skills and impressive pharmacy knowledge,” he said.

“It was great to see so much talent on display at the competition and seeing these rising stars in action fills me with confidence about the future of the profession.”

Ms Murray is completing a Bachelor of Pharmacy at the University of Queensland and is a member of the Queensland Pharmacy Students Association.

In winning the award Ms Murray headed a strong field, with the other finalists including:

  • Noor Shoaib, La Trobe University (Vic).
  • Vivien Banks, University of Queensland.
  • Jacqui Leggett, Queensland University of Technology.
  • Stephanie Samios, University of Queensland.
  • Sean Richardson, University of South Australia.

The award is sponsored by Mylan and means Ms Murray will now travel to PSA’s national conference, PSA19 (July 26-28) in Sydney where she will compete in the  PSOTY national final.

Must Read

World Schizophrenia Awareness Day 2024

Friday 24 May is World Schizophrenia Awareness Day, an annual day dedicated to raising awareness of the severe mental health condition that affects over...