PSA’s Pharmacy House launched

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s purpose-built new Pharmacy House was officially launched in Canberra this week by Assistant Minister for Science, Jobs and Innovation Senator Zed Seselja.

During the ceremony attended by about 120 people, Senator Seselja and PSA leaders unveiled a plaque to mark the official launch of Pharmacy House. Senator Seselja also toured the building to view a display of historical pharmacy artefacts and a members lounge.

The PSA says the building, in the suburb of Deakin and close to Parliament House, incorporates pharmacists’ needs into a modern office specifically designed to ensure the PSA continues to provide the best services, education and advocacy for members regardless of where they are located.

“Pharmacy House is more than just a building; it’s part of a drive into the future for all pharmacists, who are the most accessible healthcare professionals in Australia,” PSA National President Dr Shane Jackson said.

“This landmark building is owned by PSA members, for PSA members. We hope it will inspire all pharmacists to strive to be the best pharmacist they can be in their area of practice.

“I sincerely thank all of the pharmacists and supporters who have donated towards the building fund, which raised more than $300,000 – we sincerely appreciate your generosity and support. Importantly, the name Pharmacy House has been retained and the location is on the site of the original Pharmacy House built in 1984, which was also supported by member donations.”

The main facilities of the new building include:

  • A multifunctional members’ lounge where pharmacists can meet and network.
  • Special display of historical pharmacy artefacts donated and gifted to PSA with some dating back more than a century.
  • A library and other user-friendly clinical resources area.

All donations have been recognised on plaques, honour boards, a special ‘word cloud’ and an electronic donor board inside Pharmacy House.

Must Read

PDL’s grant recipients announced

Pharmacy Defence Limited (PDL) has announced the winners of the 2024 PDL Student Grants. The Winners were Yannee Liu (Vic), Aaron Stockwell (WA) and...