SA PSA Recognises Outstanding Achievement

Media Release

South Australian pharmacists have been recognised at the Pharmaceutical Society’s SA/NT Branch (PSA) Annual Celebration of Excellence in Pharmacists Care ceremony.

The awards for Early Career Pharmacist of the Year and SA Pharmacist of the Year, as well as a Lifetime Achievement Award, were presented by SA Health Minister, the Hon. Stephen Wade MLC.

Minister Wade congratulated the award winners and acknowledged the vital role pharmacy plays in the community.

“Our pharmacists and their teams are key to keeping Australians healthy and safe, from the ongoing management of chronic conditions through to rolling out vaccinations,” Mr Wade said.

“Their hard work, professionalism and dedication have been highlighted during the first year of the Covid pandemic.

“As we end the second year, I know their support will be key to our Covid-19 response and vaccination rollout – the next milestone in keeping South Australians safe and our economy strong.”

South Australian PSA Branch President, Robyn Johns, said the awards not only recognise the outstanding achievements of the winners but also highlighted the diversity in career opportunities for pharmacists in all areas of Australia – metropolitan, regional, rural and remote.

“The awards ceremony and meetings bring together the pharmacy profession to discuss the latest activity and innovation within the health sector and to ensure high-quality service delivery to the community,” Ms Johns said.

Retired Adelaide pharmacist, David Cosh, was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his ongoing contribution to pharmacy in SA, Australia and overseas over a 40-year career.

David graduated in pharmacy from the University of SA in 1966 and is a Fellow of both PSA and the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia. He has worked as a pharmacist in the UK and USA and has visited India and Sudan to teach and support clinical pharmacy practice.

“David’s often pioneering work in this field has furthered pharmacy in SA, around Australia and the world, particularly in hospital pharmacy settings and educating future generations of pharmacists,” Ms Johns said.

“His work and educational activity has certainly improved opportunities for pharmacy and pharmacists in so many different places.”

Dr Manya Angley – who has worked extensively as a community and hospital pharmacist as well as holding teaching and research appointments in the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences at University of SA – was recognised as Pharmacist of the Year.

“Apart from her practical and academic contributions to pharmacy, Manya has led many research projects and has a strong interest in supporting the patient along the continuum of care through medication management,” Ms John said.

“She has led state and national medication research projects into post-discharge medication management which have been implemented at Royal Adelaide Hospital, Flinders Medical Centre and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

“Dr Angley’s testimony to the Royal Commission into Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of People with a Disability highlighted serious concerns with the use of psychotropic medications and the ongoing need for pharmacists’ involvement in the care for people with an intellectual disability.”

The Early Career Pharmacist Award has gone to Stacey Putland who has spent time practising in rural SA and is a strong advocate for pharmacists and students over several years around improving regional, rural and remote access particularly in Aged Care.

“This includes advancing practice and developing new funding models as an embedded pharmacist in aged care and facilitating greater accountability for medication safety in several jurisdictions around SA,” Ms Johns said.

“Stacey has worked at a number of regional hospitals across the State, including Whyalla and Mildura, as a clinical pharmacist and has been instrumental in providing a clinical pharmacy service. Her contribution includes 4 years as a guest tutor and lecturer at University of SA.”

PSA presented a Gold Medal Award to Yik Xiian (Clarissa) Chai for her outstanding academic achievements. The Gold Medal follows her graduation from University of SA. Clarissa is now undertaking her intern pharmacy program in Wollongong (NSW). 

Text by: Pharmaceutical Society of Australia

Must Read

SHPA and PSS sign new Memorandum of Understanding

The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) and the Pharmacists’ Support Service (PSS) have signed a new Memorandum of Understanding. The signing of...